Daily Archives: February 20, 2017

Monday

Standard

I went to NIA this morning, so much fun! We did a mash up of all kinds of songs, one was the Happy Song, I felt like I was on the cruise ship again. James and I had coffee when it was over (he was off), then it was home for some school. I was squished between Bethany and Grace hovering over their computers, one doing Medical terminology and one doing polynomials in math. The girls went to Chick-Fil-A for lunch then we headed to dance in separate cars (Bethany likes to leave after dance, I have to wait till 3 for the girls to be done.) Our devotions were –

How do we deal with our unmet desires, dreams, callings, expectations? Don’t hide them from God, go to Him with them. In 1 Samuel Hannah has unmet desires and a calling that hasn’t been fulfilled. She has the love of her husband, but no children. So she goes, she pours out her soul to God, she shares her problem with the priest, she trusts in the promise and goes away glad. And, when her desire is met, her promise given, she hands back her child to God.

When people disappoint you, what is your response? If you are angry, bitter, sad, holding onto grief, it becomes rooted in your heart. Then, even when you get the best gift ever you end up complaining about it, nothing is ever good enough. So, what do we do?

First, go to God with your grief, your unmet desires, your anger, sadness, jealousy, remorse, pour it out to Him.
Second, get good at sharing with others who are rooted in Christ and their faith and who you can trust to walk with you. Tell them about the outpouring of your heart, let them pray with you.
Third, trust in the promise and go away glad, don’t hold on to what you let go of. Lift up your eyes, know that God hears you and be glad.
Fourth, give your gift back to God. God gives us things to bless others, your gift may not be one that you expect, the timing might not seem right, but He knows what He is doing.

Put your faith in God, not people, circumstances, the world or fear. Go, share, trust, give back.

Psalm 62: 5-9
5 My soul quietly waits for the True God alone
because I hope only in Him.
6 He alone is my rock and deliverance,
my citadel high on a hill;
I will not be shaken.
7 My salvation and my significance depend ultimately on God;
the core of my strength, my shelter, is in the True God.
8 Have faith in Him in all circumstances, dear people.
Open up your heart to Him;
the True God shelters us in His arms.
9 Human beings disappear like a breath;

Back at home we did some more school, then went to eat. We got another episode of Death in Paradise, so we watched that and called it a night.